Production Day 3 and 4

Production Day 3 

Was another day shoot where where I planned some outside scenes. This was a brief but important shoot as we needed a bit of time to rehearse the scene. This was one of my cameo scenes so Rich as the character of Steve would film and my direction before the scene worked. The scene needed to look amateur and shaky camera work not to reveal too much about the cameo character. I also wanted to show a different side to the characters that you hadn’t seen so far . A darker/ bitchier side to Scarlett And Steve.  The scene took place in a local park and we made it so we didn’t get any one else in the scene.

The last scene was a walking and talking scene. This was something we hadn’t done yet in the production, I had to walk backwards on a muddy field to capture the shot intended. It’s not noticeable in the shot and I think that the technique worked well.

walking jodie before darkened0

(Scene before changed to a darker look in editing )

Again I supplied a range of food and drinks for the day which we ate in the park.

Production Day 4 

This day was all about The characters of Tom and Steve coming together and having their conflict. The locations required a front room and a bedroom so I planned strategically for one scene to happen in Steve and Scarlett’s flat and the other scene which was Tom’s bedroom. I hadn’t used my bedroom as a scene for Scarlett or Steve so dressing the room to look like it was a completely different place was a great option and worked impeccably.

smithy0

(Richard Smith above playing Tom )

(Tom is pointing to a camera above which is recording the screen below

of Richard Williamson)

rich1

One of my favourite camera techniques of the film took place in this scene. It’s a little interview with Steve about the disappearance of Scarlett. I slowly zoom in as he’s talking then quickly zoom out when he’s finished and ask the actor to walk in frame so it all looks like he’s filmed. I’m very proud of how this effect worked

This is one of my favourite scenes as  its the only scene in the film where I use two camera angles. This is a style that I will be taking on to the next instalment of the film and will be using multiple cameras spread over different locations. The only issue was playing the scenes on the computer as I wanted it to play in real time for authenticity.The files would play from the beginning and you would hear me calling action. I hope to be able to fix that in editing though. another task in the edit will be adding sound effects in such as the door bell and commotion in the next room.

Richard Smith was a great addition to the cast and really happy with his natural performance. it Adds a new dynamic to the film and plays a very important role in the Scarlett Massacre.

Leave a comment