The West Keys- Video

Here is another example of my work as a camera man. The West Keys is a story that I’m developing as a TV show concept. I think this shows off a nice range of camera shots and techniques. This also shows off my editing skills and keeping to a steady pace and theme in a video.

I decided to do a brief video which was no longer than 40 seconds. This would work as a teaser trailer for one of the  main characters. I’ve took inspiration from some TV shows that are similar to the themes and visual looks that I want to replicate for ‘The West keys’. Two Main TV shows that I’m taking influence from for this are ‘Lost’ and ‘The X files’.  I am taking more influence from ‘Lost’ visually as its more current and I believe that they thought about the surroundings of the characters more than X Files’ Plus x files was extremely story based rather than pretty looking shots. In my Show ‘The West Keys’ I want to capture both visuals and good story.

This teaser trailer follows Michael  a time traveller who witnesses a incident that changes the world as we know it. He travels back in time to see if he is able to put things right. This how ever is just one story  of ‘The West Keys’ I also thinks its very important for the teaser to establish a good font and logo. I played around with different fonts and again i wanted something unique that would suit the film. Again I took influence from ‘Lost’ and ‘The X files’

lost_logo

X_Files_Wallpaper_3_by_SolidAlexei

When I found my font I  decided to use the theme of the lens flair behind the font slowly and subtly  going through the words ‘The West Keys’. I believe this adds some depth and style to the teaser.

I wanted the Trailer to have a timed theme to it with all the shots coming in in a nice repetition. I only used shots that make the story look Bigger and intriguing. The idea would be to do teasers for all the characters and try and build a body of work and interest surrounding the TV show concept ‘The West Keys’.

Bibliography

Solidalexei.deviantart.com, (2005). X-Files Wallpaper 3. [Image] Available at: http://solidalexei.deviantart.com/art/X-Files-Wallpaper-3-81201794 [Accessed 13 Mar. 2015].

Lost (2004-2010) [TV show] United States of America. ABC.  J.J. Abrams, Jeffrey Lieber, Damon Lindelof.

Lee, M. (2015). The West Keys Teaser. [Video] Vimeo.com. Available at: https://vimeo.com/128035660

Movies 4 me, (2010). LOST. [Image] Available at: https://movies4me.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/lost/ [Accessed 13 Mar. 2015].

X. Files (1993-2002) [TV show] United States of America/ Canada. Chris Carter.

Leave a comment