Editing my Fmp

Editing my Final Major Project was one of the easier aspects of my project.Editing is one of my strengths and always has been and this was something I was really looking forward to doing for my film.  Editing a found footage film isn’t as easy as you would think you really have to be thinking constantly of what looks and feels real.

The editing for this style of film  really depends on what footage you have and if its shot correctly. With found footage specific film cuts from shots that are only one angle and one take to another completely different scene.

I used Adobe Premiere to edit the film together and Adobe after Effects to bring my effects in.

I did my bulk edit , colour grade and sound edit in premiere all put together from my vision. The style of editing I was already familiar with from projects i had already worked on in the past. One task was trying to make lighter scenes look darker I tried many methods but in the end scrapped my efforts for a slight change in brightness and contrast.

However my unfamiliar ground were after effects so it was a lot of trial and error of what looked good.There was two things I wanted to do in after effects number one was pixalating the images to cut between scenes and show breaks in the SD footage. Secondly is a moving image logo which isn’t really possible in Premiere. I took influence from the paranormal activity films in style of my logo and wanted the logo to look blurred.

One thing that I can report being a problem was I edited my film on my lap top a pc operated computer but when I went to open it to show Jodie to record voice overs in the radio room at university the project wouldn’t open. it kept saying a message saying there was no pre-sets for the file. It never opened again so I had lost my full edit of the film. Luckily I have a mac desktop which is a bit old but had always been reliable. I started transferring the files by usb which took a while as the mac didn’t have a card port and uploading from the camera to this system takes longer. When the process was over I began editing again. This time it was a lot easier editing on a bigger screen,  but  I was a bit gutted that I had to start again although it at least it gave me an idea in my head of how to edit the film.

There is three effects  used on after effects simple to use by just dropping it on to the clip and adjusting how much the effect has and when it came in . One effect was the camera lens blur that I applied over the words. added some grain to the words again just a standard effect dropped on the the time line and adjusted how much I applied and when it was required. Thirdly I used an adobe bridge effect called block dissolve to create the block pixels for the footage same process as before .

Leave a comment