FOR SUBMISSION: Process and Development (Artefact 3)

Process and Development

The process of making my third artefact is the most interesting development for me as I decided to step out of my comfort zone. In my opinion my main two singular strengths are creating stories and editing video. I have other strengths such as camera work and writing music however an area that I have always wanted to learn more about is Radio/Podcasts. My final Major Project will rely heavily on different mediums and using the idea of radio could help elevate the story to new heights.

For my final artefact I decided to produce a three minute podcast which includes the story that I want to make for my FMP. what is a podcast? This video By Chris Pirillo (Pirillo, 2007).   gives a background look on the file type of podcasts and where the meaning and idea comes from.

 

 

This website shows a step by step guide to how to record a podcast.

http://www.ehow.com/how_2006077_record-podcast.html

After my research(explained further in research blog) I produced my Podcast by using a zoom recorder and attaching a rode mic to it for a clearer sound. I decided to use my guitar and voice to record a mini jingle for the show I also recorded this song the same way as I recorded me speaking.

The key ideas that I wanted to have in the podcast were as follows

  • The Scarlett Massacre story that I have created
  • A fun and easy podcast, that the listener could follow and interpret the story.
  • Informative and raises an issue that is believable.

I prepared a script of what I would speak about in the podcast. However when I recorded the piece it was seven minutes too long and I had to re-write the content to make it fit.

Here is the first attempt of my podcast

 

Due to my feedback I decided to Regenerate my 3rd artefact and submit it as my final Artefact. I believe by making my content more serious it will bring the story of ‘The Scarlett Massacre’ to life and make it more believable for my audience.

I decided to use a few images to accompany the podcast as I have seen a few podcasts with images to accompany them mainly on YouTube. For example This video with guest star Simon Pegg(Nerdist Podcast Network, 2013)

The video uses images while they talk , these images may not be relevant to what they are talking about but its still something to keep the viewer interested.

I employed a photographer Sharon Little(Little/Watts , 2010) a few years ago to take some concept photography for me.

26043_378532824498_612604498_3877942_3053480_n 26043_378532839498_612604498_3877944_1179098_n

I think the images are still a good tool to be included in this stage of development, even though a couple elements may not appear in the final script. For example in some of the shots there is an emphasis on playing cards on each body.

Here is the final version of My podcast which is a preview of a larger podcast.

References

Ehow, e. (2014). How to Record a Podcast | eHow. [online] eHow. Available at: http://www.ehow.com/how_2006077_record-podcast.html [Accessed 21 Nov. 2014].

Lee, M. (2014). Mark Lee artefact 3. Available at: https://vimeo.com/112064776 [Accessed 26 Nov. 2014].

Lee, M. (2014). Mark Lee Final Artefact. Available at: https://vimeo.com/112957680 [Accessed 26 Nov. 2014].

Little/Watts, S. (2010). Scarlett Massacre Photos.

Nerdist Podcast Network, (2013). Simon Pegg: The Nerdist Podcast – Episode 100. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZRKvZCDdI8 [Accessed 24 Nov. 2014].

Pirillo, C. (2007). What is a Podcast?. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WzA0RDae24 [Accessed 24 Nov. 2014].

 

 

Leave a comment